The Spring of Candy Apples by Debbie Viguie – My Review

Originally Posted at Bibliophile’s Retreat by Melissa Meeks

Zondervan (February 1, 2009)
In the previous book, her friend Josh has submitted Candace’s sketch for a ride to the employee scholarship contest. Oh it takes much more than a great ride idea to win but it seems Candace is well on her way to being a future Game Master as she already made the cut as one of five finalists in the competition and has been offered a non-seasonal position at The Candy Counter. Unfortunately there are still hurdles to clear even as a regular non-seasonal employee, the first being finding a team and a talent for the annual Zone talent show which of course she doesn’t find out about till the last minute. Thankfully some of her friends, including Pete the engineer, have formed a team and included her even before she knew which only leaves deciding on what to do for the show.

In addition to everything else she is dealing with her boyfriend’s ex, who is a fellow Zone employee and for some reason has revenge on the mind even though Candace doesn’t fight back or give in to pressure to break up with Kurt. While debating on her own whether or not Kurt is the right one for her, Candace will make her own decision eventually. At the same time she is also wondering about her feelings and those of another young man for her that may turn out to be a better match for Candace. Oh and of course there’s the whole Easter celebration planning to get through as well until her parents get called away to Florida to help out family over Easter. On top of it all if she wins the scholarship competition that wasn’t even her idea in the first place, then Candace has a whole new issue to deal with. Telling her best friend Tamara she’s going to school in Florida not nearby UCLA together like they had planned. How will Tamara take the news, will Candace stick with Kurt or will they decide its time to move on, who will win the scholarship and which team will walk away with the talent show trophy this year? (ISBN#9780310717539, 208pp, $9.99)

Drop into Debbie’s website. Click the bookcover above to purchase your own copy as well as read more about the book. Don’t forget about the rest of the series either: The Summer of Cotton Candy (Book 1), The Fall of Candy Corn (Book 2), and The Winter of Candy Canes (Book 3). Check my friend Deena’s Blog archives for reviews of the first two books which I haven’t yet had the opportunity to read and read my review of Book 3 in today’s posts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.