When the Morning Comes by Cindy Woodsmall – My Review

Originally Posted at Bibliophile’s Retreat by Melissa Meeks

WaterBrook Press (September 4, 2007)
Woodsmall’s first Amish novel that I read, When the Heart Cried quickly climbed to a spot amongst my favorites because of her storytelling skill and ability to trap the reader’s imagination in the characters’ lives. While I enjoy Amish fiction few authors in this genre have captured my fancy and transported me as Woodsmall is able to within the first few paragraphs and sustain that atmosphere of page turning anticipation beyond the final page of the book. Thankfully I had all three of this series to read at once and am impatiently awaiting more from this author’s pen.

In this second installment of her Sisters of the Quilt series, Hannah has fled the constraints of her Amish community because the people who matter most insist she admit wrongdoing where she is innocent. Rather than compromise her morals and skew the story to match what they believe happened, she leaves home to find an aunt who she has never met but she senses could be a kindred spirit in this trial. When she discovers her aunt in Ohio, she finds much more than what she was hoping for and is also thrust into a lifestyle she has never desired or truly understood. However this new lack of restraint on her pursuits provides the opportunity to pursue a dream that seemed impossible when it first entered her consciousness. She has lost so much that focusing on this dream may prove to be the distraction she needs to move on and start a new life away from the pain and betrayal that she so recently endured. Where will Hannah finally land and will she discover her true purpose in life along the way? Will her family ever come to recognize their erroneous accusations for what they are? Read on in this riveting saga of Amish life for more insight into Hannah’s story. (ISBN#9781400072934, 336pp, $13.99)

Visit Cindy’s site. Also don’t forget to click the bookcover above to purchase your own copy or read more about the book. Don’t forget to start at the beginning of Woodsmall’s Sisters of the Quilt series with When the Heart Cries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.